# Pearl vs Overjet: what the clearances and the cases show

URL: https://howdentistsuse.ai/compare/pearl-vs-overjet
Last checked: 2026-10-23
Published by Svarvik, a Gothenburg agency that builds AI automations for dental practices.

This page does not pick a winner. Pearl's verified case is vendor-reported X-ray review at Blue Court Dental. Overjet's verified case on this site is vendor-reported insurance verification at Bridge Mill Dental Care. There is no Overjet imaging case here.

Neither case publishes the practice's price or its practice management system. Overjet's October 2025 blog, quoted in the Bridge Mill case, gives a category range of $200–$800 a month. That is not Bridge Mill's price.

These are the 510(k) records opened on 23 October 2026. This is not a complete list of either company's clearances. A 510(k) decision means the FDA found the device substantially equivalent to a legally marketed predicate. It is not an FDA approval.

## FDA records opened

- Pearl Second Opinion, K210365, decision 2022-03-04, Substantially equivalent. Opened: Decision letter. The letter says it is computer-aided detection software for bitewing and periapical radiographs of permanent teeth in patients 12 or older, used as a second reader. It names caries, margin discrepancy, calculus, periapical radiolucency, and restorations (crowns, bridges, implants, root canals, fillings). The letter says an MRMC study showed statistically significant aided-reader improvement for those four pathologies. The letter text we used does not state a sensitivity or specificity figure. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/cdrh_docs/pdf21/K210365.pdf
- Pearl Second Opinion Panoramic, K250525, decision 2025-11-14, Substantially equivalent. Opened: Database record only. Not stated here. The database record names the device, the decision date, substantial equivalence, and product code MYN. The indications PDF was not opened. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfPMN/pmn.cfm?ID=K250525
- Pearl Second Opinion Periapical Radiolucency Contours, K242600, decision 2025-04-11, Substantially equivalent. Opened: Database record only. Not stated here. The database record names the device, the decision date, substantial equivalence, and product code MYN. The indications PDF was not opened. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfpmn/pmn.cfm?ID=K242600
- Overjet Caries Assist, K212519, decision 2022-05-10, Substantially equivalent. Opened: Database record only. Not stated here. The database record names the device Overjet Caries Assist, the decision date, substantial equivalence, and product code MYN. The indications PDF was not opened. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfPMN/pmn.cfm?ID=K212519
- Overjet Caries Assist, K222746, decision 2023-03-27, Substantially equivalent. Opened: Database record only. Not stated here. The database record names the device, the decision date, and substantial equivalence. The indications PDF was not opened. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfPMN/pmn.cfm?ID=K222746
- Overjet Periapical Radiolucency Assist, K231678, decision 2023-09-21, Substantially equivalent. Opened: Decision letter. The letter says it aids detection of periapical radiolucencies on permanent teeth on periapical radiographs, as a concurrent read, for patients 12 or older. It is not a replacement for the dentist, and it is for prescription use. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/cdrh_docs/pdf23/K231678.pdf
- Overjet Caries Assist-Pediatric, K233738, decision 2024-03-04, Substantially equivalent. Opened: Database record only. Not stated here. The database record names the device, the decision date, and substantial equivalence. The indications PDF was not opened. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfPMN/pmn.cfm?ID=K233738
- Overjet Multi-Image Caries and Charting Assist, K261059, decision 2026-08-06, Substantially equivalent. Opened: Database record only. Not stated here. The database record names the device, the decision date, substantial equivalence, product codes MYN and QIH, and that a predetermined change control plan was authorized. The indications PDF was not opened. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfPMN/pmn.cfm?ID=K261059

## Cases

- Pearl: https://howdentistsuse.ai/cases/blue-court-dental-pearl-second-opinion-xrays
- Overjet insurance verification: https://howdentistsuse.ai/cases/bridge-mill-dental-overjet-ai-insurance-verification

## Questions

### Which is better, Pearl or Overjet?

This page does not pick one. The verified cases are different jobs. Pearl's case is a vendor report of X-ray review at Blue Court Dental in Harrow. Overjet's case on this site is a vendor report of insurance verification at Bridge Mill Dental Care in Indian Land, South Carolina. There is no Overjet imaging case here.

### What FDA clearances were opened?

Eight records, opened on 23 October 2026. Letters: Pearl Second Opinion, K210365, decision 4 March 2022, and Overjet Periapical Radiolucency Assist, K231678, decision 21 September 2023. The other six rows are FDA database records. Their indications PDFs were not opened, so those rows do not say what the device detects. The list is not complete. A 510(k) decision is substantial equivalence, not an FDA approval.

### What do the verified cases say?

Pearl says that from October 2024 to January 2025, across 145 X-rays from 35 patients at Blue Court Dental, Second Opinion identified 44 early carious lesions and the dentists had found 12. Pearl calls the other 32 a 73% detection rate. The case says that is not a sensitivity. Overjet says Bridge Mill saves 15+ hours a week on insurance checks, and a separate undated page quotes four hours a day. Both cases are vendor-reported. Neither publishes the practice's price or its practice management system.

### What is the public price?

Not published for either practice. The Blue Court case gives no price. Bridge Mill's price is not disclosed. Overjet's October 2025 blog, quoted in that case, gives a category range of $200–$800 a month. That is not Bridge Mill's price. This page does not add a price from a review or a reseller.
